News Review
One new member, three incumbents sworn into office
Swearing in ceremony was held Thursday, May 22, in City Council Chambers.
Posted Date: 5/23/2014 9:00 AM

One new City Council Member and three incumbents will be officially sworn into office next Thursday. Mayor Matt Powell, Mayor Pro Tem and Council Member Don Tracy and Council Member Lowell Moore, along with newly-elected Council Member Corbin Van Arsdale, each took their official oath of office at the Regular City Council Meeting, held May 22, 2014 at 6:30 p.m., in Cedar Park City Council Chambers located in Building 4 of City Hall Campus, 450 Cypress Creek Road.

The meeting, which was open to the public, was well-attended. “A swearing-in ceremony is a meaningful time to celebrate with family and friends,” says Mayor Powell, “and is also symbolic of the peaceful transitions of authority we enjoy in the United States.”

In the Saturday, May 10th election, Council Member Moore was re-elected to Place 4, a seat he has held since 2008. (He also served on City Council from 1998 to 2002, and on the City’s 4A Economic Development Corporation Board from 2006 to 2008.) Councilman Moore was challenged in the election for Place 4 by local chiropractor and business owner Mo Jahadi. He received 39.79% of the vote, with 425 votes. Council Member Moore received 60.21% of the vote, with 643 votes.

Council Member Moore said, “I am humbled by the response of the citizens at the polls. And I am very happy to be returned to my seat on the city council so that I can continue my part in the good work that is being done by the city council. Serving the citizens has been by goal beginning with my first election in 1998. I continue to feel that it is important to provide a safe city in which to live, jobs for our citizens, parks and recreational opportunities for our families, and the opportunity to live work and play in a first rate city.”

Cedar Park’s newest City Council Member, former State Representative Corbin Van Arsdale, ran unopposed for Place 2 vacated by Mitch Fuller, who decided not to seek re-election.

Van Arsdale said, “Our family feels blessed to live in such a wonderful place. I look forward to serving the people of Cedar Park on the City Council.”

Mayor Powell, who has served on City Council since 2005 and was elected Mayor in 2012, and Mayor Pro Tem and Place 6 Councilman Don Tracy, who has served on City Council since 2010, each ran unopposed and were re-elected.

Mayor Powell said, “Serving as the Mayor of Cedar Park is one of the great honors of my life. My family loves this city, and it is an amazing privilege to help provide leadership and direction for its future. I congratulate and look forward to continuing to serve with Councilmembers Moore and Tracy, and I welcome Councilmember-elect Van Arsdale to this great team.”

Mayor Pro Tem and Council Member Tracy added, “It has been a great blessing to serve on City Council here in Cedar Park. Because we are the fourth fastest-growing city in the country*, we have had many great opportunities for economic and community development. In the coming term, I am looking forward to completing our comprehensive planning process, which will help ensure that Cedar Park continues to be a thriving community.”

*Cedar Park is the fourth fastest-growing city in the country for the past two consecutive years, according to the U.S. Census Bureau in reports released in May 2013 and in May 2014.